Sarah Hoye, Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Awardee

So pleased to announce this year’s Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist award winner–Sarah Hoye of CNN. Based in Philadelphia, she’s one of the hardest working journalists in the country. The Women’s Media Center is happy to acknowledge her excellence as an All-Platform Journalist. The honor will be bestowed at WMC’s gala in NYC on November 13, 2012. Tickets available at

Sarah Hoye of CNN to Receive Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award from The Women’s Media Center



Monday, October 29, 2012



WASHINGTON, D.C. ­­ The Women’s Media Center announced that The 2012 Women’s Media Awards will honor journalist Sarah Hoye, All Platform Journalist for CNN, who will receive the Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award.


The award, which is given to a journalist with promise, is named after Carol Jenkins, an Emmy-winning former television journalist, who was the founding president of The Women’s Media Center and now serves on its board.  Hoye, who is the second recipient of the annual award, is based in Philadelphia where she covers regional assignments and breaking news. She has covered several prominent national stories, most recently, Philadelphia’s violent teen mobs, the Catholic priest sex scandal, and a doctor accused of murdering a patient and newborns.

“Sarah Hoye is the journalist’s journalist, essentially running a mini bureau on her own. ` She researches, writes, shoots (video and still), and edits compelling stories,” said Carol Jenkins. “She has distinguished herself in the field with numerous awards–and I am thrilled to bestow one more on her shoulders (with all that equipment!)

I have this image of her as a 12-year-old on her paper route in Milwaukee (just like her older brothers)–and love her description of clothes covered in printer’s ink, a harbinger of a career to come. That 12-year-old wanted to become a writer–dream fulfilled–and our pleasure to honor her for her contributions to the media.”


The Women’s Media Center previously announced that Pat Mitchell, President & CEO of The Paley Center for Media & Founding Co-Chair of The Women’s Media Center, will be presented with the Women’s Media Center Pat Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award and that Martha Nelson, Editorial Director of Time Inc. will be presented with the Women’s Media Center Going The Distance Award. Mitchell is the first recipient of the award named in her honor. Lisa Ling, Host of Our America With Lisa Ling on OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network, and her sister, journalist Laura Ling, will receive the Women’s Media Center Sisterhood is Powerful Award.


The honorees will be presented with their awards at The 2012 Women’s Media Awards on Tuesday, November 13 at Guastavino’s in New York City with all three Women’s Media Center Co-Founders, Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan and Gloria Steinem in attendance.


Hoye was among CNN’s first team on the ground to cover the aftermath of the catastrophic tornado that touched down in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, as well as the Gulf Oil Spill which earned the company a 2011 Peabody Award, the oldest award in broadcasting, and considered among the most prestigious and selective prizes in electronic media. She was named 2009 Knight Digital Media Fellow for the Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Program at the Ohio State University where she produced an in-depth multimedia package on the experiences of multiracial teens. In 2008, the National Association of Black Journalists named her Emerging Journalist of The Year.

Hoye has worked at The Tampa Tribune/WFLA News Channel 8, The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.


“I am honored to receive the Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award that gives a voice to those who don’t have one,” said Hoye. “Being a journalist is not just what I do, it’s who I am.”

The Women’s Media Awards recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing women’s and girls’ visibility and power in media.

“The Women’s Media Center exists to change the status of women in media.  Because 51 percent of our population is women and only 3 percent of all clout positions in media are held by women, the Women’s Media Center Awards were created to honor champions for women who use their media platforms to tell the stories, facts, and solutions crucial to all viewers and to advance opportunities for women in media,” said Julie Burton, President of The Women’s Media Center. “Because media tells our stories and influences the role of women in every part of society, we are proud to honor these amazing leaders who set the standard for what media should look like when it gives voice to the female half of the country.”

Yanique Richards, a Howard University broadcast major, was the recipient of last year’s Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalist Award.

The 2012 Women’s Media Awards are co-chaired by Loreen Arbus, Donna Deitch, Jodie Evans, Fonda, Jenkins, Robin Morgan and Steinem.

The Women’s Media Center spearheads strategic programs aimed at transforming the media landscape including media training, media monitoring and activism, original media content, media reports, media programs and initiatives. It was founded in 2005 by Fonda, Morgan and Steinem.

To buy tickets or for more information about The 2012 Women’s Media Awards and the ongoing work of The Women’s Media Center, go to:

For more information, contact Cristal Williams Chancellor, Media Relations Manager, or 202-587-1636.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s